Blog-Tour

The Orphans Daughter by Sandy Taylor

A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page turner set in Ireland

*Bookouture

DESCRIPTION

Ireland, 1924. For thirteen-year-old Nora Doyle every day is a fight for survival. In the rural Irish village she calls home, she is no stranger to funerals or feeling the cold wind blowing through the windows of the small cottage where she lives with her family. Somehow Nora manages to keep smiling, but she longs to escape the poverty surrounding her. 

One day, Nora’s life changes when her sense of adventure leads her and her best friend, Kitty, through a hole in the wall of the huge house on the top of the hill. In the secluded, carefully tended garden they discover on the other side, Nora and Kitty meet Edward, the young boy who lives there, and they instantly form a strong bond. 

Soon Nora is spending every moment she can spare in the secret garden. But in escaping from her life in the village, Nora is going against the wishes of her family, who have forbidden any contact with the big house. Because Edward holds the key to a family secret that will change Nora’s life forever, and force her to make an impossible choice between her family and her future… 

A heart-wrenching story of love, loss and the power of friendship during unimaginable hardship. This book is perfect for fans of Orphan Train and The Girl With No Name.

The Orphan’s Daughter

MOMO’S REVIEW

This was a new author for me. I am not a huge fan of historical fiction but I find they can be nice break from modern day romance and/or crime fiction. 

The cover was the first thing to catch my eye and I am pleased to say that I found myself surprisingly hooked from the first page.  

Once I started I was unable to put it down and devoured this truly enthralling tale in a single evening.  Beautifully written, well researched story set in the 1920’s. It is a heartwarming yet heartbreaking tale of friendships, family, hardships and joy.  A very moving story indeed. The story flows along perfectly and I completely lost myself for a few hours within this emotional rollercoaster. There are many threads, yet not at all complicated, which the author neatly pulled together. 

This is the first book I have read by Sandy Taylor, and I will be reading many more. Digging a little further I realised this was a sequel to Sandy Taylor’s book The Little Orphan Girl (released in 2018) which I am looking to read very soon!

My sincere thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of ‘THE ORPHAN’S DAUGHTER’ by SANDY TAYLOR
All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway. 
All my reviews can be found on my blog momobookdiary.com

BOOK DETAILS

  • TITLE: The Orphan’s Daughter
  • AUTHOR: Sandy Taylor
  • PUBLISHER: Bookouture
  • PUBLICATION DATE: 5 February 2020
  • LENGTH: 314 pages (paperback)

REVIEW PUBLISHED / BUY LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sandy Taylor

Sandy Taylor grew up on a council estate near Brighton. There were no books in the house, so Sandy’s love of the written word was nurtured in the little local library. Leaving school at fifteen, Sandy worked in a series of factories before landing a job at Butlins in Minehead. This career change led her to becoming a singer, a stand up comic and eventually a playwright and novelist. 

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS

ABOUT THE PUBLISHER

Bookouture is a digital imprint offering BIG publisher expertise, small publisher flexibility and high royalties. We publish bestselling books. We build author brands. We create smart, effective marketing plans for every single title. 

We focus on a small number of books – because attention to detail is essential. We want all our titles to be bestsellers – so we treat each of them like one.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s