Torment by David Evans

The Wakefield Series (Book 2)

Book Blog Tour | The Wakefield Series
David Evans @DavidEWriter
Bits about Books  @CarolineBookBit

A message left in error on a young woman’s answerphone is the catalyst for uncovering some dark deeds.

Three young women are missing; luxury cars are being stolen; and just what did happen to two young schoolgirls, missing since the 1980’s?

DI Strong and journalist, Bob Souter are drawn into murky and dangerous worlds in this second book in the Wakefield Series.

The Wakefield Series:

#1 Trophies

#2 Torment

#3 Talisman

#4 Tainted – coming 2019


TORMENT is the second instalment of ‘The Wakefield Series’ by David Evans.

Author, David Evans, has continued this impressive series following on from TROPHIES we find Detective Inspector Strong is now Acting Detective Chief Inspector Strong – you need to read the first book to find out why!!

The opening chapter had me gripping the kindle whilst whispering no, no, oh no! …. don’t do it! – but of course she does, and truth be told, I would probably have done the same.

Once again the author describes the settings in so much detail you actually feel you are there watching events unfold. To me, it was all so very real and had me gripping the kindle tighter and tighter. The characters work well together and independently to get to the answers. It was slightly frustrating sometimes to see one character have information that would benefit the other but he was not willing to disclose and this makes the story all the more realistic. We all know the police and journalists rarely share treasured information and that is what makes this book so gripping! 

We learn more about the friends and family around the two main characters, giving a good insight into their lives away from work.  I was very impressed in the way that David Evans pulled together many threads and cleanly wove them together so as to give us a meaningful story whilst not distracting from the fascinating ongoing drama.

As with the first book, I read this book in a single day.

I moved on to the third book of the series “Talisman’ immediately and invite you to join me on 9th November, for my review of TALISMAN on the

Click here for your full guide to the #BitsAboutBooksBlogTour


Universal Amazon Buying Link:


AmazonGoodreads, Waterstones, Barnes & Noble and BookBridgr


David Evans Author Image

David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK. Now, whilst awaiting the fourth book in the Wakefield Series (coming early 2019), the first three books in The Wakefield Series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers.

Find out more by visiting David’s website at

or follow him on Facebook at

and Twitter @DavidEwriter


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: