Trophies by David Evans

The Wakefield Series (Book 1)

Book Blog Tour | The Wakefield Series
David Evans @DavidEWriter
Bits about Books  @CarolineBookBit

From the CWA Debut Dagger Shortlisted Novelist comes an extraordinary crime novel that everyone is raving about.

When DI Colin Strong interviews a suspect on suspicion of handling stolen goods he’s convinced he’s heard their voice before.

Nearly 25 years ago the tape of Wearside Jack taunted West Yorkshire Police and his suspect fits the profile.

Then the body of a known burglar shows up and a mysterious metal case is discovered at the scene.

Strong turns to his close friend, journalist Bob Souter, and embarks on an awkward alliance to probe areas he is unable to explore.

As the murder suspects start to disappear Strong must discover just who the shadowy figure inciting fear and panic amongst those he encounters is.

Strong wants to bring a murderer to justice and Souter is hungry for a story.

Who will get to the truth first and can their friendship remain intact?

The Wakefield Series:

#1 Trophies

#2 Torment

#3 Talisman

#4 Tainted – coming 2019


BlogTour The Wakefield Series


Trophies is a brilliant opening to ‘The Wakefield Series’ by David Evans.

Author, David Evans, has ingeniously woven this story around the real-life events related to the English serial killer, known as ’The Yorkshire Ripper’.

The main characters of this series are Detective Inspector Colin Strong and journalist Bob Souter. These men were friends of old, before Bob Souter moved away and they lost touch.  Bob has recently returned to the area and taken up a position with the local newspaper.  I found them both to be very appealing characters who are able to work together while independently investigating, and therefore managing the boundaries of their roles well.

I found this to be a fast-paced intriguing read which had me fascinated from start to finish. I read the book in one day. I even found myself wishing time would stop so I could read a bit more before bed – in the end I went to bed and sat up reading until the final conclusion.

I moved on to the second book of the series “Torment’ the following morning and invite you to join me on Monday, 5th November, for my review of Torment on the

Click here for your full guide to the #BitsAboutBooksBlogTour


Universal Amazon Buying Link:


AmazonGoodreads, Waterstones and BookBridgr


David Evans Author Image

David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK. Now, whilst awaiting the fourth book in the Wakefield Series (coming early 2019), the first three books in The Wakefield Series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers.

Find out more by visiting David’s website at

or follow him on Facebook at

and Twitter @DavidEwriter

One response to “Trophies by David Evans”

  1. Hahaha! That happens to me too when I read a good mystery book. Sleep doesn’t seem so important anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: