Crime Fiction Crime, Thriller and Mystery Murder psychological

The Text by Claire Douglas

A short story

A single text changed her life. Did it end his?

Emily Latimer is furious. Her boss Andrew is being so unreasonable, as always. She fires off a text to her boyfriend, only in her haste she sends it to her whole office group.

In it she says Andrew’s being difficult about letting her have time off work. That she is angry. That she hopes he dies. The next day her face burns in the office. No one believes her when she says it was a typo, she meant to say does. She hopes he does.

It’s a nightmare. But it gets worse – Andrew doesn’t turn up for work. And then the police come knocking. Because Andrew Burton has been murdered . . .


I have not managed to read anything by Claire Douglas as yet so grabbed this short story and I am so glad I did.  It was a brilliant introduction to this very talented author.

This was a very thrilling twenty minutes full of suspense, twists and turns.  My only complaint was that the story ended way too quickly.

I have now borrowed Do Not Disturb from my local library and already started it!


  • TITLE: The Text: A Short Story
  • AUTHOR: Claire Douglas
  • PUBLISHER: Penguin
  • PUBLICATION DATE: 31 August 2017
  • ASIN: B073XY41QH
  • FORMAT: ebook
  • LENGTH: 40 pages



GoodReads, Amazon


Claire Douglas always wanted to write novels and, after many years of trying to get published, her dream came true when she won the Marie Claire Debut Novel Award in 2013 with THE SISTERS. Her subsequent novels LOCAL GIRL MISSING and LAST SEEN ALIVE both reached the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers list and are published in over fifteen countries. Her fourth thriller, DO NOT DISTURB was released in August 2018.

You can find Claire Douglas on TwitterFacebookGoodreads and Instagram






Crime Fiction Crime, Thriller and Mystery Murder Mystery psychological Suspense Thrillers

Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer

(Detective Natalie Ward #2)

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood.

As Natalie begins to delve deeper into the couple’s lives, she discovers that Adam has a dark past he’s been hiding and she’s sure that the Brannon’s teenage babysitter Inge has secrets of her own.

Then another mother is murdered on her doorstep in front of her young son, the word ‘why’ scrawled on the wall next to her. 

All the key suspects have alibis and with her own marriage hanging by a thread, Natalie is struggling to stay focused on cracking her toughest case yet.

When a young woman and her baby disappear, a member of Natalie’s own team is put in terrible danger. Can Natalie stop this twisted serial killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.


Awesome!! OMG!! Compelling reading once again from Carol Wyer!

The first book, The Birthday, is a fabulous read – click on the link to read my review published on my blog during October.  In this second book, Last Lullaby, we see the return of Detective Natalie Ward and her team who are thrown into another intriguing and engaging investigation which pulls you in all directions at once.

This book can be read as a stand alone. However, Carol Wyer is such a brilliant author that you will not want to miss this series – or, in fact, anything else with her name on it!  

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Carol Wyer for the opportunity to read and review this novel prior to publication.  

Last Lullaby is released on 7th December and available for preorder at Amazon now:


  • TITLE: Last Lullaby
  • SERIES: Detective Natalie Ward #2
  • AUTHOR: Carol Wyer
  • PUBLISHER: Bookouture
  • PUBLICATION DATE: 7 December 2018
  • ISBN: 9781786816962
  • FORMAT: ebook
  • LENGTH: 361 pages



NetGalley, GoodReads

(and on publication these sites will also have this review)
Amazon, Waterstones, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iBooks, BookBridgr


Carol Wyer garnered a loyal following as an author of romantic comedies, and won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015). In 2017 she stepped from comedy to the “dark side” and embarked on a series of thrillers, featuring the popular DI Robyn Carter, which earned her recognition as a crime writer.

The Staffordshire-based writer now has more crime novels in the pipeline, although she can still sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.
You can interact with Carol Wyer on her websiteTwitterFacebook and Goodreads






Crime, Thriller and Mystery Murder Uncategorized

The Hope That Kills by Ed James

DI Fenchurch #1

The body of a young woman is found on the streets of East London, in the shadow of the City’s gleaming towers. No ID on her, just hard-earned cash. But there is no doubting the ferocity of the attack.

DI Simon Fenchurch takes charge but, as his team tries to identify her and piece together her murder, they’re faced with cruel indifference at every turn—nobody cares about yet another dead prostitute. To Fenchurch, however, she could just as easily be Chloe, his daughter still missing after ten years, whose memory still haunts his days and nights, his burning obsession having killed his marriage.

When a second body is discovered, Fenchurch must peel back the grimy layers shrouding the London sex trade, confronting his own traumatic past while racing to undo a scheme larger, more complex and more evil than anything he could possibly have imagined.


I enjoyed this book. The cover is certainly eye-catching and would have me picking it off the shelf. The synopsis confirmed it would be my type of book.

The plot was exciting and it was an enjoyable read. However, I feel the author became too involved in details and I felt this slowed the pace of the book.

I would like to thank Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book.


  • AUTHOR: Ed James
  • TITLE: The Hope That Kills
  • SERIES: DI Fenchurch #1
  • PUBLISHER: Thomas & Mercer
  • PUB DATE: 1 September 2016
  • LENGTH: 366 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781503936553


NetGalleyGoodReadsAmazon, Waterstones, Barnes & Noble



Ed James writes crime fiction novels, predominantly the SCOTT CULLEN series of police procedurals set in Edinburgh and the surrounding Lothians – the first four are available now, starting with GHOST IN THE MACHINE which has been downloaded over 280,000 times and is currently free. BOTTLENECK (Cullen 5) is out on 17-Mar-14. He is currently developing two new series – DI SIMON FENCHURCH and DS VICKY DODDS, set in London and Dundee respectively. He also writes the SUPERNATURE series, featuring vampires and other folkloric creatures, of which the first book SHOT THROUGH THE HEART is out now and free.

Ed lives in the East Lothian countryside, 25 miles east of Edinburgh, with his girlfriend, six rescue moggies, two retired greyhounds, a flock of ex-battery chickens and rescue ducks across two breeds and two genders (though the boys don’t lay eggs). While working in IT for a living, Ed wrote mainly on public transport but now writes full time.

Find out more:

Ed James website – website and on Twitter – Facebook – GoodReads and Amazon