Life After Men 🎣 by Karen Charlton and Jean Gill

A Silver Sex Kitten Short Story #1

Heart-warming comedy for the mature woman – because you’re never too old to have fun.

Shy and recently-widowed, Carys Newham is anxious and excited in equal measure when her friend, Moira, suggests they take up a challenging new hobby. Despite Carys’ already strained relationship with the local wildlife, the two friends tackle up and go fishing in the Yorkshire countryside.

After all, if ten year-old-boys can do it, how hard can it be?

As Carys and Moira pursue their dream to catch their own supper, secrets are unearthed, young men are scandalised and maggots are liberated. In their determined quest for pan-fried trout, the two women narrowly avoid both the bomb disposal unit and arrest.

Moving and deliciously funny, Life After Men is the first short story in The Silver Sex Kittens Series, which features five single friends in their fifties who have ordinary lives but extraordinary adventures

From writing duo Karen Charlton (author of the bestselling Detective Lavender mysteries) and Jean Gill (author of the award-winning Troubadours Quartet) Fans of Marian Keyes, Liane Moriarty and Nick Spalding will love The Silver Sex Kittens.

MOMOBOOKDIARY REVIEW

OMG What a scream!!!!

This is the funniest book I have read this year!  Everything is just so true and life-like experiences.  Chick-Lit for the mature women?  Not sure I like how much of this book I can relate to given that statement. I cried with laughter more than once whilst reading.

The two characters, Carys and Moira, are brilliant. The second short story is planned for 2019 and will tell us more about Moira in Moira’s Highland Fling.  I can’t wait to read the second book and hear more about Moira and what these two get up to on their trip to Scotland.

In my opinion, there is one serious problem with the book…. it is not long enough.  I wish the story was longer. I know it’s a short story but I didn’t want it to end.

We are advised at the end of this story that there will be stories about all the Silver Sex Kittens as the series continues.  Ohhhh so exciting!!!

This should be converted to a film or TV series…. can you tell I got very carried away within the 65 pages!

Thank you to #TBC, The 13th Sign and Karen Charlton and Jean Gill for the opportunity to read and review this novel.

BOOK DETAILS

  • TITLE: Life After Men
  • SERIES: A Silver Sex Kittens short story #1
  • AUTHOR: Karen Charlton & Jean Gill
  • PUBLISHER: The 13th Sign
  • PUBLICATION DATE: 26 October 2018
  • ASIN: B07HW1L6CJ
  • FORMAT: ebook
  • LENGTH: 65 pages

REVIEW PUBLISHED

GoodReads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iBooks

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

You can interact with Karen Charlton on her website and on FacebookGoodreads and Amazon

You can interact with Jean Gill on her website and on TwitterFacebookGoodreads and Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s